Habits

Standard

I’m a very habitual person. I always put my left sock on before my right and my left shoe on before my right. I always put my pen in my front left pant pocket, my phone in my right front, and my wallet in my back right. In the shower, I always use shampoo, then conditioner, then body wash. Never body wash first. When I get into my car, I always hit the door unlock button even if I’m the only one getting in my car. My go-to order at McDonald’s is the number six, only ketchup, with sweet tea to drink.

Habit can be good. It’s a good habit to brush your teeth every day. To use deodorant every day. To rub your puppy’s belly.

But one habit that I have never been able to form is reading my Bible.

It’s not even that I don’t like reading my Bible. I love reading into the context and looking in the footnotes of my Bible and just truly soaking in God’s Word. But it’s just a habit that I have never fallen into in my life. I never made reading the Bible a priority growing up, so when things in my life get busy or I have free time, I never think to myself “Oh, what a great time to read my Bible.”

This post has a two-fold objective. 1) My mom sent me a Facebook message today telling me to write a new blog post because she was bored. So here you go Mom. 2) I ask that all of you who read this help keep me accountable to reading my Bible. This is something that I want to do a better job of, and I think that people encouraging me to continue reading the Word will only make me want to read it more. So thanks for your help in advance.

16 All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17 so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.
2 Timothy 3:16-17

-matthew

20111018-001911.jpg

Leave a Reply

