Complaining

Standard

Man, I’m REALLLLLLY bad at this. I complain about everything. And all of my friends will tell you that, too.

But what good does complaining really do? Most of the things I complain about are things out of my control. People’s personalities, things that people have already said, etc. What good does it do to whine about things like that? No good whatsoever.

In writing this post, I googled “what the Bible says about complaining,” and a ton of scriptures came up.

Do all things without grumbling or questioning,
Philippians 2:14 ESV

Do not grumble against one another, brothers, so that you may not be judged; behold, the Judge is standing at the door.
James 5:9 ESV

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.
Ephesians 4:29 ESV

I think it’s interesting how a lot of those scriptures used the word “grumbling.” Grumbling is really worse than complaining. Grumbling is described as “muttering in discontent.” No one really wants to hear another person muttering.

While there are a lot of things I’m not always happy about, that gives me no excuse to complain or grumble about them. God does not call me to point out other people’s flaws, but to work on my own flaws.

Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?
Matthew 7:3 NIV

-matthew
12:58 pm

Leave a Reply

